pasobbirthday.blogg.se

Attack vector tactical rules pdf
Attack vector tactical rules pdf













attack vector tactical rules pdf
  1. #Attack vector tactical rules pdf pdf#
  2. #Attack vector tactical rules pdf full#

I mean, it is true that Squadron Strike has starfighters and Attack Vector: Tactical doesn't. If I had to chose one, I'd go with AV:T.Ĭlick to expand.I'm not entirely sure what you mean by that, but I don't think so. It is fairly simple to use, just don't try to reverse engineer it because you want to "do it by hand".īoth games are good. The ship design system is a very, very large spreadsheet with lots of calculations going on underneath the hood.

attack vector tactical rules pdf

It can be as simple or as complex as you want to make it.

attack vector tactical rules pdf

SS is a generic game with lots of dials for customization. The Patrol campaign is a blast as you see the effects that a long-range patrol has upon the combat capabilities of a ship. It is a game where you can win the fight, but still lose as your ship is too far from resupply.

attack vector tactical rules pdf

It takes multiple impulses (turns) to complete pivots and rolls, weapons have cool down periods, batteries need to recharge, ships have finite fuel and finite heat sinks, and seeking weapons can take multiple turns to arrive on target, changing vectors takes multiple turns, etc. While there are a number of similarities, they are quite a few differences.ĪV:T is a game of clocks. To actually play them, you do need the physical components.Ĭlick to expand.I actively play both games.

#Attack vector tactical rules pdf pdf#

I do sell the PDF rulebooks for both games on the web shop.

#Attack vector tactical rules pdf full#

They wanted to focus on different product lines, and I wanted to work on games at closer to full time status. In September and October of last year, I separated Ad Astra from Final Sword Productions. (AV:T doesn't, because there's a terrifying amount of barely contained calculus under the hood, and the design tools are ugly, brittle, and almost impossible to teach someone to use without me physically being there and going "oh, right, don't do that.")Ībout the only thing SS really can't do is high fidelity physics-based space combat. This news post from December describes the differences more fully: The short form is that AV:T is more detailed, and more closely tied to its setting and physics-based design assumptions, while Squadron Strike has a player-accessible ship design system. They don't anymore.ĪV:T is the game you want, then, Marchand. I don't know the background, but until fairly recently, Final Sword Productions sold AV:T either instead of or in addition to Ad Astra Games. I'm not certain, but the disappearance of AV:T from the sites you mention might relate to the separation of AV:T from Final Sword Productions. Try to locate someone you can play it with. It is a bit of a challenge to play, at least if you're not experienced, but it works. I think Squadron Strike may have enough zoom-out to make it more playable as a squadron-level wargame (again, from secondhand info).įrom what I've seen, AV:T does a good job of doing what it set out to. That is to say, there's enough work to administer a single ship (and enough to think about in administering a single ship) that having a player command more than one simultaneously is probably best left to people with a lot of experience or a huge amount of time to kill. You could of course make up ship stat sheets, but there's no way to verify that you did it 'right', let alone calculate a design cost.ĪV:T, it should be noted, may be more accurately viewed as a combat starship command sim than a wargame. AV:T, to my annoyance, does not have any publicly available design system. Squadron Strike has, as a core feature, some kind of design system, so not only can the game engine model whatever kind of ship, you can actually make that happen. I can't go into details here since I haven't read Squadron Strike, but I'm pretty sure on this. I believe AV:T is somewhat higher-resolution on the things it covers than Squadron Strike, and it is devoted to a particular very-firm SF setting where fusion torch ships fight each other with lasers and kinetic weapons. I think I own the Squadron Strike PDF now, but I haven't read it yet, so my information there is a bit secondhand.ĪV:T is not made obsolete by Squadron Strike. I have and have played (a very little) AV:T.















Attack vector tactical rules pdf